Introduction To Line Telecommunications

Return to:
Index or _
Products _

18. Protocol Buster


This section lists the protocols and standards which may be encountered and gives each a brief description of each. This is not an exhaustive list.







These standards and recommendations are issued by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU-T), formerly the International Telegraph and Telephone Consultative Committee (CCITT), which is a specialist agency of the United Nations.

There are four series of protocol and standard references that are commonly encountered in the area of communications covered by this document. These are

I Series Standards referring to ISDN and related topics
Q Series Standards relevant to European ISDN networks
V Series Recommendations covering data transmission over telephone lines
X Series Recommendations covering the interfacing of data transmission and terminal devices

The following list is for reference.

Q Series
Number Areas Covered
Q.931 European ISDN

V Series
Number Areas Covered
V.21 300bps PSTN duplex modems
V.22 1.2Kbps PSTN / leased line duplex modems
V.22 bis 2.4Kbps PSTN / leased line modems
V.23 600bps/1.2Kbps PSTN modems
V.24 DTE and DCE interchange circuits
V.25 bis PSTN automatic calling and answering equipment
V.26 2.4Kbps leased line modems
V.26 bis 2.4/1.2Kbps PSTN half duplex modems
V.26 ter 2.4/1.2Kbps PSTN full duplex modems
V.27 4.8Kbps leased line modems
V.27 bis 4.8/2.4Kbps leased line modems
V.27 ter 4.8/2.4Kbps PSTN modems
V.29 9.6Kbps leased line modems
V.32 9.6Kbps PSTN / leased line modems
V.32 bis 14.4Kbps PSTN / leased line modems
V.34 28.8Kbps PSTN / leased line modems
V.42 Error control procedures
V.42 bis Data compression for error control (V.42)




Return to top of page

Extracted from

Introduction To Line Telecommunications
Copyright Panasonic Business Systems UK Ltd 2000